New task groups are created in the administrator settings and tasks are assigned to them that determine, for example, the basis for invoicing or reporting. Task groups can be assigned to customer projects.
Content of the instructions:
Create a new task group
Location: Settings → Timetracking tab → Press "+ New"

Basics tab:
Field | Description |
|---|---|
Name | The name of the task group. |
Key | Free description for the task group. |
Archived | Retains the task group on the system, but hides it from active use. |
Default (always added to customers) | Task group is automatically added to projects for new customers. Suitable for standard services. |
Add tasks to a task group
Location: In the task group creation view, go to the Tasks tab → Press "+ New"

Task Bar Details:
Field | Description |
|---|---|
Product | Serves as the default charge basis. Internal tasks are not mandatory. |
Task Name | Shown in the time record – you can, for example. Add (CON) to contract tasks. |
Type | Available for: Billable, Internal, Contractual |
Task types:
Billable: Normally billable, the product serves as the basis for the price.
Internal: Visible only in reports. Not included in invoicing (e.g. training, absences).
Contractual: Visible to the invoicer, but by default 0€/h. Used for e.g. contract work.
Optional settings
Open "Optional settings" under the task.
Decree | Description |
|---|---|
Minimum charge | Minimum charge in minutes. |
Billing cycle | Round up according to the period (e.g. 15 min). |
Code | E.g. for payroll purposes. |
Hourly rate | Overruns the specified price for the product. |
Cost | Overruns the cost that is specified for the product. |
Competency factor % | E.g. 50% if only part of the time is billed. |
Invoicing factor % | Specifies the portion to be billed (e.g. 50%). |
Cost factor % | Specifies the proportion of the cost that will be incurred. |
Cumulative | Specifies whether to include flex in the tracking. |
Force Invoice Description | Prevents approval without an invoice explanation. |
Force incl. key | Prevents acceptance without an internal explanation. |
Absent | Shown as a holiday/absence in the holiday calendar. |
Clear Day Load | Resets the hourly goal for the day. |
Admin confirm | The tasks go to the holiday calendar for approval. |
Tracking | Separate hourly balance for the position. |
Informative | Hours do not accumulate costs. |
Admin only | Only admins can log hours. |
Prices per employee
Click on "Set prices per employee"
Select + Add → Select an employee and set an hourly rate
Use case: Consulting services at different prices for different employees
Task group recording
Once all tasks and settings have been defined:
Press "Save"
The task group is now visible in the list and can be attached to customer projects.
Edit a task group
Task groups can be found on the Timetracking tab in the Settings menu. Click the name of the task group that you want to edit.
In the preview window that opens, select the Edit button. This opens the task group edit page.

Add, edit, and delete assignments
On the Tasks tab, you can add new tasks to the task group by selecting the + New button.
Note that the product that will be used as the basis for charging the new task must be created before you can add the task.
You can edit existing tasks directly on the task bar. More detailed task settings can be found via the Optional settings link.
The task can be deleted from the trash can icon on the right side of the task bar.
Important about deleting tasks
If hours have been logged for a task, it cannot be deleted directly. Instead, you should hide the task:
Select the Hidden option for the task.
When saved, the task moves to the Hidden Tasks section of the task group .
Hidden tasks retain all their settings and can be reactivated at any time.
Finally, save any changes you made to the task group.
Acceptance of changes
After the changes made to the task group are saved, the system automatically reviews the projects that the task group is associated with.
In the view that opens, you can see how the tasks in the task group differ from the current tasks in each project.
You:
To accept all changes at once, select the Update All button.
Approve changes on a project-by-project basis by opening the lines and approving the sub-lines one by one.
Delete and archive a task group
You can delete a task group if no hours have been logged in it. Deletion can be done by clicking the Delete button in the task group preview.
N.B! If you delete a task group that is used in a project, the related tasks are also removed from that project. Make sure that the projects include the correct tasks after this.
If hours are logged in a task group, it can't be deleted. In this case, the task group must be archived:
Go to edit view.
On the Basic info tab, select the Archived option.
Save your changes.
The archived task group moves to the Archived section of the view. To make a task group active, deselect Archived in Editing view.
Mikäli sinulla herää kysymyksiä, voit olla yhteydessä Kohon asiakaspalveluun sähköpostitse osoitteessa: asiakaspalvelu@kohosales.com, voit myös halutessasi jättää arvostelun artikkelille alapuolelta.